The job market for Econ grad students

I’m a PhD student in math and the academic job market now is tough. Half-jokingly, I’ll say it puts the fear of god in me. But often I sit in my office and wonder what is life like for grad students in other fields? It turns out, the job hunt is a lot tougher for people in econ!


In summary: Econ grad students do all the job applications and interviews all at once in one mega conference each year. Sprinting from interview to interview in a breathless race fueled by anxiety and great ambitions!

Out of curiosity, I took the liberty of looking up the grad student they follow in this episode. Julian Shu of Michigan. He seems very talented! Please hire him!
Leave a Reply

